Out of the fog…

13 Feb

Hi all,

There have been some complaints about lack of updates, so although not a lot is happening, I will update where I am at!

Today was my first day fully off the pain killers. I started to reduce on the weekend, and it was only then that I realised how much of a ‘fog’ I had been in all week. Very lethargic, and my brain was processing very slowly. I think that was why I was a little bit stressed, as I couldn’t quite work out why simple things seemed just that little bit harder than they should be. The concept of going back to work really worried me, as I simply couldn’t imagine what I would do – and trying to get my head around hedging and investment strategy sounds so terrifying.

But now I feel much clearer. There is still some residual pain, and annoyingly the anti-coagulation injections are giving me horrible bruises across my tummy and thighs, but it’s manageable, and it’s better than the mental fog. I’m still quite tired, and very ready to get home after a bit of wandering around when I do get out, but it’s mostly ok.  I’m still avoiding my normal ‘killer sudokus’ as I suspect I will be worryingly terrible at them, but hopefully I can start to now think clearer, and maybe read the odd work related document!

As I’ve been quite housebound since the operation – this has only exacerbated my well known desire to never leave the Brook Green ‘triangle’. In particular I can’t really imagine taking the tube again, especially a rush hour tube. The idea terrifies me! But I assume as I feel better that will improve. I’ve successfully navigated a trip to Gloucester rd (on the bus) today, so things are looking up. 🙂

The problem is, I’m not visibly unwell… so I can’t really throw people out of seats. And I far to scared on the pram brigade to even approach them to move!
p.s. This is not actually me! I’m not sure what this lady is doing…

In other news, I am still waiting for results from the lymph nodes. I will call tomorrow as I would like to know what the plan is before the surgeon goes on holiday next week. Assuming they are clear, then I will be going into hospital on the 24th (evening) for the operation on the 25th, and should be in hospital at least til Thursday, and possibly until Saturday. After last time, I am less inclined to rush out of hospital, and will take my time and stay as long as I want. In some ways this smaller operation has been a great trial run to let me know how to prepare for the larger operation. I have tried to do too much too soon, but I will know next time to take my time.

There was talk of doing the major operation on Monday this week (the 11th) but I’m really pleased I didn’t. I was not ready at all, and while the 18th would have been fine, the surgeon needs time to use the yachts I am funding! So 25th will most likely be the day, and fingers crossed the start of the end of this whole experience.

As a reminder, the next operation is a trachalectomy. I do another post on what that operation is once it is confirmed.

Also, sending lots of love to my cousin and her soon to be new husband, whose wedding I am sadly missing this weekend. Hope everything goes completely smoothly, and you know we are both sending our love!

3 Responses to “Out of the fog…”

  1. Anonymous February 13, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    We’ll have to fix that incorrect photo issue…that’s assuming you’re allowed take photos on the bus/tube in this city??

  2. Bigzippy February 14, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    I thought she was putting vaseline/lip balm on :p

    • Bigzippy February 14, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      P.s. Fingers crossed for the results tomorrow 🙂

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

