Lymph Nodes Clear

14 Feb

Hi,

Well I finally got a call from the Doctor this morning, and all the lymph nodes were clear. So that means the operation on the 25th is going ahead.

This is good news, and thank god as I really don’t think I was ready for any other news.

Somehow I don’t quite feel like cracking the champagne though. I think I’ve been really focused on that, and while it means I don’t to do chemo/rad, the surgical option isn’t fantastic either. But, the outcomes are better surgically, even if the treatment itself isn’t exactly easy.  In isolation being told you need a major operation is bad news, it’s a strange world where it’s actually good news!

The doctors exact words were ‘The nodes showed no signs of disease, which is reassuring’. I think that reminded me that there are no definitive answers, and there probably won’t ever be. I’d also forgotten that after the surgery they may still even then decide the risk is too much and make me do the chemo.

Anyway, maybe just having a bit of a down day! I also had a bit more pain today, so took some codeine, and I don’t think they are good for my mood. But hopefully now the 25th is the start of the end.

From a practical point of view, I should hear from the admissions department soon. I think I will go in on the 25th, and may be out on the 28th, but would have to go back in on the 30th to have various tubes and things removed. Or stay until the 30th, which I may do depending on how I feel. Then it’s “just” recovery.

I’ll do a post of the actual operation in the next few days.

 

14 Responses to “Lymph Nodes Clear”

  1. Anonymous February 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Fantastic – just the best news ever to wake up to ‘downunder’. xx

    • kathclear February 14, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      I’m presuming this is Mum! Enjoy the golf. 🙂

  2. MsB February 14, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m so pleased to hear that you have good news today – congratulations! Really delighted for you. I’ve been following your blog all along and send you my best wishes.

    • kathclear February 14, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Thanks – it is nice to know people are thinking of me. Is MsB = Ms JJB?

      • MsB February 16, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

        Nope! MsB as occasionally spotted on a forum you sometimes frequent…

  3. Anonymous February 14, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Glad to hear there’s some good news, will have my fingers crossed for more,
    TL x

    • kathclear February 14, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      Thanks. I do need to celebrate the good news!

  4. Bigzippy February 15, 2013 at 1:27 am #

  5. Mrs February 15, 2013 at 5:08 am #

    Yeah, great news 🙂

  6. Simon Clear February 15, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Hi Kath, I got the ‘all clear’ after a PET/CT scan yesterday. Strange times indeed that news of an operation is ‘good news’ but that’s what you have to deal with now. Best of luck with the operation and recuperation. Simon

    • kathclear February 15, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      That’s really great news Simon. How long has it been from your first diagnosis? I am quite tempted by your idea of a warm weather recovery period – sounds like a nice idea, just not sure if I can travel after my operation.

      Do you have a regular cycle of scans now planned in the future?

  7. Sylvia MacKenzie February 16, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    What a relief for you to hear the Dr. say those words Katherine! I too hope that the 25th is the start of the end of this journey! Be kind to yourself! X

    • kathclear February 17, 2013 at 12:45 am #

      Thanks Sylvia. Fingers crossed the good news continues, and I can re-start my life. It feels like everything has been on hold since I was diagnosed.

  8. julie February 17, 2013 at 2:55 am #

    fab valentines day news. fingers crossed for the op, so we can start focussing on the identifying the best tropical environment in which to recuperate…

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

