Getting ready for tomorrow

24 Feb

I’m at home tonight, getting around to packing for the hospital. It’s very easy to pack I must admit – select a variety of granny nighties and the dressing gown… throw a few toiletries in and it’s done!

I went for the pre-operation assessment on Friday, and all went fine. It was the normal set of blood tests, blood pressure, lung function, height weight etc. I’m very used to it all these days!  I asked to speak to the surgeon as I hadn’t spoken to anyone in weeks about anything. It’s been strange going from appointments virtually every day in the middle of January to long periods where I am just left alone these days. So I felt a little unprepared for the operation on Monday.

One of Prof Shepherds surgical fellows came, and she was much nicer than the one who spoke to me before the last operation – who gave the feeling like talking to me was a necessary evil! She actually listened, and went through all the potential complications, and took into account what I was worried about – even if they are minor things. She also said there was no chance this operation could change into a hysterectomy on the table as far as she was aware, and that she promised I would wake up with my uterus intact. Which was really good to hear.

The main risks are to do with moving the other things out of the way, as I mentioned in my last post.

Then she talked me through all the other potential complications. I’m not really sure why they go through the full list of complications. There isn’t anything I can do about them as I have to go ahead, and it is a little scary. They are low risk, like 1-4%, but I can’t help thinking that with Prof Shepherd having done 250 or so surgeries, that means between 3 and 10 real women have had each of these bad complications. As I’ve been on the wrong side of a few stats recently, it feels much more real. I know the risk is low… but if it is you – then it’s a 100% impact! But, I can’t worry about something I can’t really influence, so I’m trying not to.

With the tumor, they are really only looking at the margins to ensure it has clear margins, and perhaps to assess the aggressiveness  but she said the margins where the main thing to worry about.

The surgeon also said this operation should be less painful from a recovery point of view, as they are not cutting through the abdomen.  However, it is still 4-6 weeks… so I’m not sure what takes so long. I suppose I will find out! The other operation was 2-3 weeks, and it did take 2 weeks, so I can only assume they know what they are talking about.

So, fingers crossed please everyone! The support really does make a big difference to me and it’s great to know that people are thinking of me – wherever you are.  Lucy – I’m also thinking of you, and while I can’t see you before your trachelectomy on Wednesday, hopefully I can give some kind of update here before you go in, and let you know that it all went well.

One minor thing. While I do love pressies as much as the next girl, I think there are others who can make much better use of the funds! So, can I please request that from now could you please make a donation in my name to Cancer Research UK. I have relied a huge amount on their very helpful website, and this new surgery is only possible due to years of research.

Thanks! Donation Page

Cheers all. I will handover control of the Blog to Susan and Eric so they may update over the next few days.

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

