Fatigue

2 Mar

Hi,

I’m home today after a week in hospital, and I was planning to do a wonderful informative post, full of pathos and humour about what I learned and experienced… but I have found I am simply too tired!

The fatigue is slightly unexpected, and totally overwhelming at times. I have been trying to walk a bit during the week, and each time I find I break out in a sweat and have to have a long break in bed. And by ‘walks’ I mean walking from 20 metres up the hospital corridor initially to about 150m across the road from the hospital on the last day. When I got back I had to get properly back in bed and basically couldn’t keep my eyes open for over 2 hours. Susan was ‘on shift’ at the time, and couldn’t believe how much I deteriorated after the walk – but then did recover after a few hours dozing.

Today I was completely worn out after the effort of throwing a few things in a suitcase, and getting a taxi home. Again I needed about 3 hours sleep to recover. It’s crazy!

I also foolishly missed my tablets, as I really haven’t been in pain for a number of days, and did find out that the pain killers are doing something. So I had to catch up this evening, which may have made me tired also.

Tiredness is one of those things that is hard to quantify. When was the last time you weren’t just a little bit tired!? So it’s harder to work out when I am ‘better’ and also what I can and can’t do.  It’s hard that I sometimes feel fine, and then walk the length of the flat and find my heart rate is higher, I feel slightly breathless, and I’m already getting tired. Susan and Eric are being quite strict with me, and will not let me make plans (like last time – decided to walk to the GP the day after I got home!)

So, you can look forward to an exciting and fun post tomorrow, but tonight, I am enjoying being back at home, and preparing for a good nights sleep in my own bed.

10 Responses to “Fatigue”

  1. Bigzippy March 3, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Even if you’re not actively thinking about it, processing what’s been going on it’s tiring for your body. Being emotional is tiring. Being in pain (even if the painkillers mean you don’t feel it) is exhausting too. Then there’s the sheer physical healing process from the op.

    Take it easy, don’t expect much, and you’ll suddenly realise one moment how far you’ve come. 🙂

    • Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

      Totally right bz. I’m trying to take out easy, and am being a bit more practical about what is achievable each day.

      They say 4-6 weeks recovery for a reason I guess!

  2. MsB March 4, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    Can’t say it better than Bigzippy…every word is true. Please look after yourself and enjoy being at home xx

    • Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks mrsb. I have the team on hand looking after me. I’ll make the most of that while it lasts!

  3. Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Keep talking the talk and walking the walk, Kath (and taking the tablets, obviously). It’s very impressive that you even manage to find the energy to think and write – I’m at my desk this afternoon and finding it impossible. Most of all, take good care of yourself and keep on getting better.

  4. JJB March 4, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Oops – anonymous March 4th at 2pm is me!

  5. Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    JJB, somehow I guessed it was you! I’m managing to update between naps. 🙂

  6. Olivia March 4, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    By the time that the sun comes out and the summers begins you’ll be full of beans and no doubt geting the rounds in .. roll on the sunshine and Kath becoming more exuberant .. love ya xx

    • Anonymous March 4, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Exactly. Roll on summer!

  7. Kath March 4, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Oops, I’m not logged in. All the anonymous replies are me!

    Kath

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

