The importance of Research

1 Apr

The other important thing is research.

Since Mr Papanicolaou first created a screening test for cervical cancer, a series of steps was being prepared to ensure I got through this whole thing as safely and healthily as possible – by an army of researches. Without that test, I wouldn’t have known I had cancer, I’d still have it now – but it would have doubled in size and would be preparing to properly kill me. My cancer was about 2-3cm in size, and doubles every 3 months or so – so it really was discovered just in time.

Without research into less invasive treatments, I would have had an instant full hysterectomy, as well as a good blast of chemo and radiation. Leaving me infertile, in menopause, missing key functions (like bladder and bowels), and a much shorter life expectancy.

Instead, I am happy and healthy now. With a good chance of still having kids, and a normal life.

I am SO grateful for everything that brought me here today.

I have said before, but in so many ways I feel incredibly lucky, lucky it was found, lucky I could get the best treatment, lucky I was referred to Prof Shepherd, and lucky the operations have all gone so well.  I could say I was unlucky to get cancer, but you can’t have it all!

Here is the link to the donation page for my fundraiser for cancerresearch

As I am the one who benefited most from both of these charities I will also match any donations between the two charities – up to £1000 – so please give generously!

As you can see, its for an Afternoon tea this weekend, and if you are in the West London area feel free to get in touch as all are welcome. Contact me on kmmr99@hotmail.com

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

