Locked and loaded

31 Mar

So I’m home after the TAC and the baby is locked and loaded. Very pleased!!

The operation went well, although the surgeon said it was more complex than expected due to a fibroid being right in place where the stitch  normally goes. Plus a tilted uterus and non-standard anatomy, but afterwards he said it was fine. I have 21 metal staples in my tummy now! Recovery was… honestly… pretty painful. I did take some morphine, but moved to codeine the second day and then just paracetamol.  Just home today after 3 nights in hospital.

The surgeon told me that he had a 100% success rate with patients like me!! However he did say that was statistically unreliable as there are so few examples, but he was really positive. He did give me lots of information about how much better it was to have the TAC done pre-pregnancy… not terribly helpful at this stage!

They scanned the baby before and after and said it was looking perfect, but the consultant who saw me on Sunday managed to get me into the closed EPU (Early Pregnancy Unit) and did a scan for reassurance so I got another look. I was bloated like a whale, and all swollen up from the surgery, but she persevered and found the baby and it was there with a lovely strong heartbeat. At this stage you don’t need to see the heartbeat though, you can tell it’s happy from all the bouncing around it’s doing!

I was nervous about the hospital experience as it was the first time I was going to be in a ward, but it was actually perfectly ok. A bit noisy, but they had a really strict visitor policy so only from 3-8.30 which meant the rest of the time was pretty quiet. There was a bell like in a pub at last drinks! Staff were lovely, and food was acceptable, but I barely touched it really. It was a gynae ward, so all women, but they brought in some female admissions from the emergency room late on Friday and Saturday nights. In both cases the patients were as considerate as possible, but you do hear everything and someone non-stop throwing up is slightly distracting! But I wasn’t sleeping that much really so it wasn’t too bad.

The operation has been a bit more of an ordeal than I was expecting to be honest. I have incredible RESPECT for women who do that and then go home to care for one or more kids!

I’m hoping that I’m not just pathetic, but that it will be easier next time when I can take proper pain killers and am not dealing with early-pregnancy fatigue and symptoms on top of it all. I’m pleased today to feel more pregnant rather than just post-op’y. Bit of nausea, tired and mild bloating (like I had all through the first 12 weeks) which somehow feels different to the intense nausea, fatigue and massive bloating after the operation.

And finally, to liven things up – a few pictures of baby Martin. 🙂

Baby2 Baby1 - fibroid

 

The fibroid is 3cm so looks huge on this scan, but it shouldn’t grow during the pregnancy so will quickly become less of an issue. Poor baby was having to dodge around it at the moment though.

3 Responses to “Locked and loaded”

  1. teaandcakeordeath March 31, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

    Yay! Lovely scan and glad you’re both home safe and sound. 🙂

  2. Taz April 4, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Fab news! You are awesome and I have incredible respect for you! Take care my dear friend *hugs*

  3. Bigzippy April 24, 2014 at 2:27 am #

    Awesome to read and see this 😀

Love to hear from you! Note you don't have to leave your email address.

